Greensleeves

Alas, my love, you do me wrong,
To cast me off discourteously.
For I have loved you well and long,
Delighting in your company.

Greensleeves was all my joy
Greensleeves was my delight,
Greensleeves was my heart of gold,
And who but my lady greensleeves.

-“Greensleeves”, a traditional English folk song

Although Wikipedia is telling me that the “green” in this song may have referred to the promiscuity of the woman in question  (you know, the one who cast the author off discourteously), my green sleeves are quite innocent, but not ready to be cast off courteously or otherwise.

They are certainly complete, though!   And are ready to be united with the body of my sweater, which has also made some progress since I last posted.   I decided to go ahead and make the sweater the exact same size as the first blue one, and just cross my fingers that they’ll fit my nephews when the time comes.   However, after seeing recent pictures of my nephews, I do think I’ll make the neck opening a bit larger on this one…

The next step is to UNITE!   I will knit the sleeves together with the body (leaving little sections unconnected, that will later be woven together for the underarms).   However, this takes a little bit of math, so I need to make sure my brain is good and ready, and not distracted by anything on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

