Finished Object: Purple Stripey Scarf

My purple scarf, made from sock-weight yarn and thus more suited for autumn, is finished!

It took a swim a couple of days ago, and the blocking really made the pattern shine.

scarf blocking

My purple scarf, laying out to dry after a quick wash.

The blocking evened out all of those yarn-overs, and I pinned down the edges to make the points well-defined.

And then I was a dork, and had a bit of a photo-shoot with my scarf, and had a blast playing with my camera and pretending to be a model for a bit.

That was Favorite Scarf Ever by Lisa Bruce, and it’s a pretty basic lace scarf.  It was a good dive into the world of lace for me, and a good knit that I didn’t have to think about too much.   It also had a built-in halfway point, after which I felt like I was really flying.

And, of course, now that the scarf if finished, the weather channel is predicting that temperatures are going to drop into the thirties.   Sigh.   I’ll be digging out a heavier scarf, and working on a fair isle hat, which I started on Friday.

I’m guessing I’m not the only person who has had this issue, of finishing projects just in time for the weather to change?

I’ll just be super excited to rediscover the fall in the spring, like a time capsule or a present I’ve hidden for myself.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Finished Object: Purple Stripey Scarf

Leave a Reply

