Thanksgiving Recap

I hope everyone state-side had a delicious and joyful Thanksgiving!

My Thanksgiving with family was absolutely wonderful.   I was able to spend almost five days with my two adorable nephews, and I loved playing with them and holding them.

And it warmed my knitter’s heart to see them in their hand-knit sweaters!    I was happy to finally see them wear the sweaters, and make sure they weren’t too small.   They were a bit too large, but hopefully that means they can wear them throughout the winter before they grow out of them.    (Sorry, no pictures, I know my brother and sister-in-law don’t like to put their kids pictures on the internet, and I respect their decision.)

Shockingly, I haven’t knit at all over the past six days.  I was plenty busy hanging with family, and the projects I brought with me weren’t tempting enough.  (Those darn red socks, I am torn between ripping them back and starting again, or continuing on and just seeing what happens.)    But, I did work on my fair isle hat before I left, and it’s almost finished.

fairisle-hat

It’s His and Hers Reflection Hat by Melissa Leapman, and made with Cascade 220 Superwash wool.

Unfortunately, I ignored my gauge instincts and just dove into the hat, but it looks a bit small.   I think I’m getting more like 5 1/2 stitches per inch, when I should be getting 5 stitches per inch.     We’ll see if it will block out, or if I’ll rip it back and try again.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Recap

  1. I love that hat, the pattern is super cute! I am glad you and Brad had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I can’t wait to see you all at Christmas!

Leave a Reply

