Partial Organization

“I pulled out box after box, setting them haphazardly around the room. My organization lacked something — like, say, organization …”
― Richelle Mead, Succubus Dreams

How up-to-date is your Ravelry stash?

After buying my new yarn at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival, I felt a need to update my Ravelry stash.   Now, I could have just added the two new items I had purchased.

Instead, I took some time and went through my bags of yarn, took pictures, and uploaded them to Ravelry.    I like the idea of having a list of my yarns, for when ball bands are lost (because let’s be honest, they will either be lost, or thoughtfully thrown away to decrease clutter, and then mourned).

And here’s where the organization gets less…. organized.   I didn’t put ALL of my yarns in Ravelry, just some.   Just the ones I thought I would want to use soon, and those of higher quality.  (Yes, acrylics have their place, but at this point, I didn’t feel the need to catalog all the leftovers from baby blankets I’ve made over the years.)

Here are a few of my favorites from the stash:

(From top left, clockwise)

Knit Picks Chroma,  Knit Picks Galileo, Caron Simply Soft (yes, it’s acrylic, but I have sentimental reasons for loving this batch), and Cascade 220 Superwash.

Ahh, I love going through the yarn.   It’s like counting your blessings.

Do you use the Ravelry stash?   Do you enter every ball of yarn, or pick and choose what to include?

Happy organizing!

Melissa signature

2 thoughts on “Partial Organization

  1. I’m pretty sure I’d be at a complete loss without the Rav stash feature. I use it all the time, for everything. It helps SO MUCH knowing at a glance how much of what yarn I have when I’m plotting projects. Once you get in the habit, it’s indispensable.

Leave a Reply

